The Hebrew calendar is made up of twelve lunar months, beginning with Nisan (the month in which Passover occurs). The weekly Sabbath is the first biblical holy day that God commanded, but Passover and the Feast of Unleavened Bread are the first of the annual feasts mentioned in Leviticus 23. The High Holidays (the Feast of Trumpets, commonly known as Rosh Hashanah, and Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement and the most solemn day of the Hebrew calendar) occur in the seventh month, the month of Tishrei. Rosh Hashanah as the Jewish New Year is a traditional rather than biblical concept. It makes for an interesting juxtaposition of solemnity, joy and introspection leading up to the day of Yom Kippur and happy holiday wishes for a sweet New Year.

Following is the list of Hebrew calendar months in their proper order:

  1. Nisan
  2. Iyar
  3. Sivan
  4. Tammuz
  5. Av
  6. Elul
  7. Tishrei
  8. Cheshvan
  9. Kislev
  10. Tevet
  11. Shevat
  12. Adar

Read more about the Jewish holidays and other Jewish lifecycle events, particularly from a Messianic perspective.